EXERT Centrum Języków Obcych




FULL OFFICIAL NAME: Commonwealth of Australia

INDENPENDENCE: 1 January 1901

NEIGHBOURS: Timor & Arafura Seas (north), Coral Sea (northeast), South Pacific Ocean (east), Indian Ocean (south & west)

AREA: 7,741,220 square km (total)

POPULATION: about 23 million

HEAD OF STATE: British sovereign

POLITICAL DIVISION: 6 states and 2 territories - MORE

CAPITAL: Canberra

CHIEF CITIES: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Hobart, Darwin, Adelaide

THE HIGHEST PEAK: Mount Kosciuszko (2228 m.)

CHIEF RIVERS: Murray-Darling system, Fitzroy, Flinders


EXTERNAL TERRITORIES: Norfolk, Coral Sea Islands, Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Keeling Islands, Christmas Island, Australian Antarctic Territory, Macquarie Island - - MORE

CURRENCY: Australian dollar

NATIONAL ANTHEM: "Advance Australia Fair"

TYPICAL ANIMALS: kangaroo, dingo, platypus, emu, koala, Tasmanian devil

NATIONAL SYMBOLS: Southern Cross constellation (five, seven-pointed stars), kangaroo, emu / national colors: green, gold

FAMOUS AUSTRALIANS: Nicole Kidman, Hugh Jackman, Ian Thorpe, Lleyton Hewitt, Ned Kelly

POPULAR SPORTS: rugby, field hockey, soccer, surfing

OLYMPIC GAMES: Melbourne 1956, Sydney 2000

More about states and territories

More about external territories