EXERT Centrum Języków Obcych

Brytyjska Wspólnota Narodów

Commonwealth of Nations

It is an organization which members are: Great Britain and its dependencies, some former British dependencies that are now sovereign states and their dependencies, and the associated states (states with full internal government but whose external relations are governed by Britain). One exception is Mozambique - a former Portuguese colony - never a member of British Empire. In short, there are 53 independent states working together in the common interests of their citizens for development, democracy and peace.

The member countries are: Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, The Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Cameroon, Canada, Cyprus, Dominica, Fiji Islands, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Kingdom, Vanuatu, Zambia.

The modern Commonwealth, which has its origins in the former British Empire, today comprises 53 independent member states. Thirty-two members are republics, 16 have constitutional monarchies which recognise HM Queen Elizabeth II as their Head of State, and five have national monarchies (Brunei Darussalam, Lesotho, Malaysia, Swaziland and Tonga).

***In 2013, it was announced that the Gambia would leave the Commonwealth of Nations with immediate effect, ending 48 years of membership of the organisation. The Gambian Government said it "decided that the Gambia will never be a member of any neo-colonial institution and will never be a party to any institution that represents an extension of colonialism".

More about Commonwealth members