EXERT Centrum Języków Obcych

Republika Irlandii



GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION: occupies southern, central and northwestern part of the island of Ireland

AREA: 70,273 square km

POPULATION: about 4.9 million

POLITICAL DIVISION: 28 counties and 3 cities

CAPITAL: Dublin (Baile Atha Cliath)

CHIEF CITIES: Cork, Limerick (Luimneach), Dun Laoghaire, Galway, Waterford

THE HIGHEST PEAK: Carrantuohill (1041 m.)

CHIEF RIVERS: Bann, Boyne, Shannon, Barrow

CHIEF LAKE: Conn, Mask, Ree

PATRON SAINT: Saint Patrick

NATIONAL HOLIDAY: March 17th (St. Patrick's Day)


CURRENCY: Euro (previously: Irish pound)

POPULAR SPORTS: soccer; gaelic football; hurling

FAMOUS IRISHMEN: George Bernard Shaw, James Joyce, Samuel Beckett, Oscar Wilde, Pierce Brosnan, William Butler Yeats, Jonathan Swift, U2, etc.

NATIONAL SYMBOLS: harp, shamrock (trefoil) / colors: blue, green